Correction : parole, prison, and the possibility of change
(Book)

Book Cover
Average Rating
Published
New York, NY : Flatiron Books, 2023.
Edition
First edition.
ISBN
9781250758804, 1250758807
Physical Desc
323 pages ; 25 cm
Status
TWISP PUBLIC LIBRARY
364.609 AUSTEN
1 available
WENATCHEE PUBLIC LIBRARY
364.609 AUSTEN
1 available

Description

Loading Description...

Also in this Series

Checking series information...

Copies

LocationCall NumberStatus
TWISP PUBLIC LIBRARY364.609 AUSTENOn Shelf
WENATCHEE PUBLIC LIBRARY364.609 AUSTENOn Shelf

More Like This

Loading more titles like this title...

More Details

Published
New York, NY : Flatiron Books, 2023.
Format
Book
Edition
First edition.
Language
English
ISBN
9781250758804, 1250758807

Notes

Bibliography
Includes bibliographical references and index.
Description
"From the critically acclaimed author of High-risers comes a groundbreaking and honest investigation into the crisis of the American criminal justice system-through the lens of parole. Perfect for fans of Michelle Alexander's The New Jim Crow and Bryan Stevenson's Just Mercy The United States, alone, locks up a quarter of the world's incarcerated people. And yet apart from clichés-paying a debt to society; you do the crime, you do the time-there is little sense collectively in America what constitutes retribution or atonement. We don't actually know why we punish. Ben Austen's powerful exploration offers a behind-the-scenes look at the process of parole. Told through the portraits of two men imprisoned for murder, and the parole board that holds their freedom in the balance, Austen's unflinching storytelling forces us to reckon with some of the most profound questions underlying the country's values around crime and punishment. What must someone who commits a terrible act do to get a second chance? What does incarceration seek to accomplish? An illuminating work of narrative nonfiction, Correction challenges us to consider for ourselves why and who we punish-and how we might find a way out of an era of mass imprisonment"-- Provided by publisher.

Reviews from GoodReads

Loading GoodReads Reviews.

Citations

APA Citation, 7th Edition (style guide)

Austen, B. (2023). Correction: parole, prison, and the possibility of change (First edition.). Flatiron Books.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation, 17th Edition (style guide)

Austen, Ben. 2023. Correction: Parole, Prison, and the Possibility of Change. Flatiron Books.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities (Notes and Bibliography) Citation, 17th Edition (style guide)

Austen, Ben. Correction: Parole, Prison, and the Possibility of Change Flatiron Books, 2023.

MLA Citation, 9th Edition (style guide)

Austen, Ben. Correction: Parole, Prison, and the Possibility of Change First edition., Flatiron Books, 2023.

Note! Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy. Citation formats are based on standards as of August 2021.

Staff View

Loading Staff View.