They don't represent us : reclaiming our democracy
(Book)

Book Cover
Average Rating
Published
New York, NY : Dey Street, an imprint of William Morrow, [2019].
Edition
First edition.
ISBN
9780062945716, 0062945718
Physical Desc
xv, 334 pages ; 24 cm
Status
WENATCHEE PUBLIC LIBRARY
320.973 LESSIG
1 available

Description

Loading Description...

Also in this Series

Checking series information...

Copies

LocationCall NumberStatus
WENATCHEE PUBLIC LIBRARY320.973 LESSIGOn Shelf

More Like This

Loading more titles like this title...

Other Editions and Formats

More Details

Published
New York, NY : Dey Street, an imprint of William Morrow, [2019].
Format
Book
Edition
First edition.
Language
English
ISBN
9780062945716, 0062945718
UPC
40029601293, 40029597681

Notes

Bibliography
Includes bibliographical references and index.
Description
"In the vein of On Tyranny and How Democracies Die, the bestselling author of Republic, Lost argues that our democracy no longer represents us and shows that reform is both necessary and possible"--,Provided by publisher.
Description
Lessig believes that along many dimensions, a single flaw-- unrepresentativeness-- has detached our government from the people. Our fractured partisanship and ignorance on critical issues drive our leaders to stake out ever more extreme positions. Here he charts the way in which the fundamental institutions of our democracy, including our media, respond to narrow interests rather than to the needs and wishes of the nation's citizenry. Lessig shows that "We the people" are increasingly uninformed about the issues, while political polling reflects and normalizes our ignorance, feeding it back into the system as representative of our will. -- adapted from jacket

Reviews from GoodReads

Loading GoodReads Reviews.

Citations

APA Citation, 7th Edition (style guide)

Lessig, L. (2019). They don't represent us: reclaiming our democracy (First edition.). Dey Street, an imprint of William Morrow.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation, 17th Edition (style guide)

Lessig, Lawrence. 2019. They Don't Represent Us: Reclaiming Our Democracy. Dey Street, an imprint of William Morrow.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities (Notes and Bibliography) Citation, 17th Edition (style guide)

Lessig, Lawrence. They Don't Represent Us: Reclaiming Our Democracy Dey Street, an imprint of William Morrow, 2019.

MLA Citation, 9th Edition (style guide)

Lessig, Lawrence. They Don't Represent Us: Reclaiming Our Democracy First edition., Dey Street, an imprint of William Morrow, 2019.

Note! Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy. Citation formats are based on standards as of August 2021.

Staff View

Loading Staff View.