Only the Best: The Exceptional Life and Fashion of Ann Lowe
(eBook)

Book Cover
Average Rating
Published
Chronicle Books LLC, 2022.
ISBN
9781797221229
Status
Available Online

Description

Loading Description...

Also in this Series

Checking series information...

More Like This

Loading more titles like this title...

Other Editions and Formats

More Details

Format
eBook
Language
English

Reviews from GoodReads

Loading GoodReads Reviews.

Citations

APA Citation, 7th Edition (style guide)

Kate Messner., Kate Messner|AUTHOR., Margaret E. Powell|AUTHOR., & Erin K. Robinson|ILLUSTRATOR. (2022). Only the Best: The Exceptional Life and Fashion of Ann Lowe . Chronicle Books LLC.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation, 17th Edition (style guide)

Kate Messner et al.. 2022. Only the Best: The Exceptional Life and Fashion of Ann Lowe. Chronicle Books LLC.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities (Notes and Bibliography) Citation, 17th Edition (style guide)

Kate Messner et al.. Only the Best: The Exceptional Life and Fashion of Ann Lowe Chronicle Books LLC, 2022.

MLA Citation, 9th Edition (style guide)

Kate Messner, Kate Messner|AUTHOR, Margaret E. Powell|AUTHOR, and Erin K. Robinson|ILLUSTRATOR. Only the Best: The Exceptional Life and Fashion of Ann Lowe Chronicle Books LLC, 2022.

Note! Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy. Citation formats are based on standards as of August 2021.

Staff View

Go To Grouped Work

Grouping Information

Grouped Work IDdea9748f-524b-965b-bba0-be22a7b861d0-eng
Full titleonly the best the exceptional life and fashion of ann lowe
Authormessner kate
Grouping Categorybook
Last Update2024-05-15 02:01:03AM
Last Indexed2024-06-08 05:40:49AM

Book Cover Information

Image Sourcecoce_google_books
First LoadedOct 20, 2022
Last UsedJun 1, 2024

Hoopla Extract Information

stdClass Object
(
    [year] => 2022
    [artist] => Kate Messner
    [fiction] => 
    [coverImageUrl] => https://cover.hoopladigital.com/chr_9781797221229_270.jpeg
    [titleId] => 15140383
    [isbn] => 9781797221229
    [abridged] => 
    [language] => ENGLISH
    [profanity] => 
    [title] => Only the Best
    [demo] => 
    [segments] => Array
        (
        )

    [pages] => 68
    [children] => 1
    [artists] => Array
        (
            [0] => stdClass Object
                (
                    [name] => Kate Messner
                    [artistFormal] => Messner, Kate
                    [relationship] => AUTHOR
                )

            [1] => stdClass Object
                (
                    [name] => Margaret E. Powell
                    [artistFormal] => Powell, Margaret E.
                    [relationship] => AUTHOR
                )

            [2] => stdClass Object
                (
                    [name] => Erin K. Robinson
                    [artistFormal] => Robinson, Erin K.
                    [relationship] => ILLUSTRATOR
                )

        )

    [genres] => Array
        (
            [0] => Art
            [1] => Biography & Autobiography
            [2] => Fashion
            [3] => Juvenile Nonfiction
            [4] => Music
        )

    [price] => 0.74
    [id] => 15140383
    [edited] => 
    [kind] => EBOOK
    [active] => 1
    [upc] => 
    [synopsis] => An inspiring picture book biography of the amazing Anne Lowe, the first nationally-known African American fashion designer!

 

A careful snip, a delicate fold.

Fabric the color of new petals.

Skirts that flare like upside-down blossoms.

A garden bursts into bloom!

 

There is no "good enough."

For Ann, only the best will do.

 

Award-winning author Kate Messner, costume historian Margaret E. Powell, and fashion designer and illustrator Erin Robinson tell the powerful story of the ground-breaking Ann Lowe, who grew up in a small Alabama dress shop and became the first nationally-known African American fashion designer. Sought after by millionaires and movie stars, her designs walked the red carpet and graced the wedding of Senator John F. Kennedy and Jacqueline Bouvier.

 

At a time when the world around her thought African Americans deserved no more than second-class treatment, Ann expects no less of herself, and no less FOR herself, than the BEST.

 

THE FIRST, FAMED BLACK FASHION DESIGNER: Although she faced many hardships, Anne's spirit, talent, and belief in herself always shone through. This story provides an empowering, real-life role model for young girls-and especially Black girls-to relate to and see themselves in, at an age when building self-confidence is more important than ever!

 

ENCOURAGES CREATIVITY AND PERSERVERENCE: Full of interesting details about how Anne came up with her designs, and how she always forged ahead in spite of setbacks, this true story will captivate aspiring artists and young creative thinkers alike.

 

SURE OF HER OWN WORTH: This book makes a perfect gift for anyone looking to celebrate, empower, and inspire the women in their lives-whether daughters, granddaughters, nieces, cousins, or friends. Ann Lowe stands as a testament to the power of knowing we're both capable of and deserve ONLY THE BEST.

 

BEAUTIFUL, IMMERSIVE PROSE: Wonderful, vivacious writing by award-winning author Kate Messner and expert historian Margaret E. Powell brings Anne's pride in herself and her work to life in rich detail!

 

Perfect for:
•	Parents, grandparents, and caregivers
•	Teachers and librarians
•	Readers who loved Little Leaders and Parker Looks Up
•	The vast #WeNeedDiverseBooks community
•	Anyone seeking books about Black excellence, female empowerment, or Black history
•	Gift-givers looking for a beautiful, inspirational book for the girls (or women) in their lives
    [url] => https://www.hoopladigital.com/title/15140383
    [pa] => 
    [subtitle] => The Exceptional Life and Fashion of Ann Lowe
    [publisher] => Chronicle Books LLC
    [purchaseModel] => INSTANT
)